G R E E N

by Sandra Bruce

Happy Saint Paddy’s Day! I am not Irish, I’m half Scottish, half British….I think. My Ancestry DNA test results are due back any time so I’ll let you know if it changes after I see them! In any case, today’s post is brought to you by the color green. It was my favorite color for a long time, and I realized today how many things I have made for myself or acquired because they are green. Here are a few….but first! Heidi had her book signing last Saturday at Sugar Pine Quilt Shop. Her new book is called “Fashion Quilted Accessories” and we are excited about her latest achievement. I went by to pick up one of her books and she was wearing her quilted vest that is adorned by my polymer buttons. Congrats Heidi!

On to my collection of green things! This is one of my favorite pairs of earrings, I made them different from each other which sometimes makes people stop and take notice. It’s fun to wear them. They are polymer mixed with regular beads.

Spring is here! This orchid just bloomed and I love the touch of green inside the blossom. I have been puzzled by those root-looking things that poke out of orchids. A woman told me recently when I asked her about it that it’s the same as when we’re in bed and we like to have our arms out of the covers! That made me laugh and it’s a nice way to think about it. Any orchid pros out there? Let me know if you have an explanation 🙂

Also in the same vein, this plant in a mosaic pot that lives in our kitchen made with celadon-colored pieces of plates. Mosaics are a creative way to cover plain pots and make them special. I especially enjoyed putting the plates into a paper bag and banging on them with a hammer to create the shards. Good therapy!

This pincushion was made from a teacup and saucer I found in a fabulous thrift store last summer. I made a bunch and saved this one for myself while giving the rest away as gifts. I’m going to make more to sell at the Pine Tree Quilt show boutique in May. Very easy to do and who can’t use another pin cushion?

Oh my, my bin of green fabric is overflowing!

A Vogue pattern, made into a blouse using rayon I dyed, screen printed, and sewed beads along the neckline.

A wonky log cabin quilt, in many shades of green.

I kept a few leaves on my design board from one of my recent quits, “Lemon Tree in Tuscany”.

I think I make more green polymer buttons, pins and earrings than any other color, and I don’t know why, it just happens.

Since I’m teaching polymer clay at the Zephyr Retreat in September I’ll show you a  bag of mostly black and white polymer I made recently. Woo-hoo! I am so excited to have that time coming up this Fall to be surrounded by polymer for a few days. I have only 3 spaces left in my class if you are thinking about taking it, c’mon and join us!

I have been feverishly working on a couple of deadlines aside from my long arm business and teaching. I am making a new Matrix portrait quilt for a competition whose deadline is May 1 and I only started it a couple of weeks ago. Also I am preparing for Meet the Teachers with NCQC (Northern California Quilt Council) on April 8th and I am going to be announcing a brand new class I’ll be teaching, called “The ABC’s of Stitching Words” and I’ll be talking more about it in weeks to come. Stay tuned!

Have a great St. Patrick’s Day and don’t forget to wear green. 🙂

 

12 thoughts on “G R E E N

  1. Hi Sandra, I envy you having the time doing all the things you have going. Have fun and I enjoy your blog. Betty

    • Hi, Betty, it’s nice keeping in touch with you, thanks for your comments. As for time spent, my gardening suffers, as do my dinner menus and house cleaning. But I’m doing what I love to do! 🙂

  2. Hi Sandra, I happen to know why you have more green beads/fabric than any other colour. It’s because our eye detects more shades of green than any other colour, and we have the ability to distinguish between the great array of greens that are available, eg blue/green, yellow/green, grey/green etc. Our eyes just can’t do the same job with other cololurs because of the make up of the colour detectors, the cones, that are in the structure of our eyeball.
    Enjoyed your blog, Julie

  3. I’m curious and eager to learn more about “The ABCs of Stiching Words.” Always enjoy your posts and appreciate both your talent and your passion. Determined to complete my Matrix self-portrait quilt which I started in Tahoe so that I can bring it to you to quilt. Won’t be able to join you this year at Artistic Alchemy, as we will be celebrating our 50th anniversary in Hawaii!
    Keep on doing what you love!

  4. Nice! I, too, love green. To me it’s the color of nature and very soothing. And at this time of year I celebrate its reappearance.

  5. Enjoy your writing. I did not realize green was your favorite color. You do so much in all the colors in your polymer clay . In your quilts, I think most often of your shades of black and white in your self portrait and your son

    • Hi, Nancy, thank you!….actually, periwinkle is my favorite color now, but it was green for a long time. I try to be “equal opportunity” when it comes to creating polymer in different colors!

Leave a Reply

