Designs by Heidi goes to San Francisco!

Craftsy-Logo InstagramAA Logo1Pinterest-Pinnedetsy     by Heidi Emmett

It was a cold, snowy, morning.  I couldn’t wait to get out of Dodge and zip to San Francisco with my friends. I needed to recharge and get some fresh ideas generating. dsc_0212

Ladies and gentlemen, for what it is worth, you are reading two blog posts by me, Heidi Emmett at two different sites. Designs by Heidi. wordpress.com and over at Artisticalchemyblog.wordpress.com. If you haven’t seen one or the other, please check out one AND the other. Both will give you a nice break in your day.

Yes, Christine talked about the de Young museum (located in Golden Gate Park) last week. But I have different pics and a different take. And that’s what is so fun about what we do as 4 very different workshops at our Artistic Alchemy retreat at Zephyr. My workshop is called “Pick a Pattern.”  Go see the patterns under workshops/ Heidi Emmett, and you can choose from my new book too!

My BOOK!! It’s OUT! Joann’s and independent quilt shops and fabric stores (if they pre-ordered) next week. Amazon, RIGHT NOW! Here is a picture of the cover (from a cell phone at Leisure Arts). I did NOT make it up. It really happened.So, pick a pattern and join the fun in my workshop at Artistic Alchemy this September.

book-cover

Now, back to our program: What a gorgeous day we picked to go to San Francisco. After, a stop at Fabrix, a fabulous shop on Clement St. where designer fabrics abound at super prices, we booked it over to the de Young museum. Taking advantage of that bright, yellow orb in the sky(haven’t seen it much), we sat outside the museum to eat our brown bag lunches and soak up some  Vitamin D (which has been in short supply of late).

Look how they wrapped an ordinary cement structure (except for the scrunchy portion) in steel mesh. Pretty cool looking. See the bank of windows near the top? That is the observation room. What great views of the city from there. No time to go up today.
dsc_0214

Love the red orange and yellow gold of this opening flower. I think there is an entire universe in each and every flower we look at. The precise detailing, the colors, the shapes!

dsc_0215

We get inside purchase our tickets and shazamm! Staring me in the face is a fabulous mural by (Christine told us his name last week)…. It’s huge and colorful. It’s worth another look. Here is a close-up first. Look at the 3-D qualities in the lower right area. Hm…layered applique.’ Tuck away idea number one.

dsc_0217

The people standing there give you a sense of scale. I was so surprised by the vastness of the room (it held the mural perfectly) and I am snapping pictures left and right when what do I spy in my viewfinder? A GUARD! YIKES! He’s shaking his finger at me. Big whoops! I had the flash on!!!! dsc_0216

So, it’s kind of like eating dessert first, except we are in a museum and several of us decided to hit the GIFT SHOP first.  Stuff and ideas are myriad in a gift shop. dsc_0218

Check out this very cool silk scarf with flotsam and jetsam (aka fabric scraps) stitched down. We can do this. Do I have that many silk scraps?   This scarf is really worth the $115.00. Lots of work. dsc_0219

Ohh, I like these cross-body bags, or whatever they are called. I have some great home dec weight fabric, that would work.
dsc_0220

Uhhh, do ever get the feeling that someone is watching you? I turned and a clerk was giving me a not so nice look. Hey, I had the flash OFF! But I forgot to ask permission. Exit quickly, stage right.

In the hushed quiet of the “Embroidery” room, we all gaze at the many examples of beautiful handwork over the centuries.

dsc_0225

A close-up of a woman’s Mola Blouse, mid 20th century. Panama, San Blas Islands. Reverse applique’. I’ve been doing a little bit of that. Nothing like this gorgeous example. I would show more examples of embroidery, but, well….my battery drained in my camera. That’s what I get for not asking permission and using a flash!  dsc_0227

Thanks go to Patty Park for the rest of these deYoung pictures.

Wow, wow, who knew that charred pieces of wood could make such a statement. It’s organized chaos suspended in air. About 16 ft. high and 10 feet deep. A study in black and white. Hmm… I see stamping on fabric maybe. And don’t forget the 3-D looking wood bench in front of the Mobile burned wood.img_3198

That’s my back (to give scale) next to this amazingly large metal-like piece (individual pieces of aluminum covers from Whiskey bottles (now THAT’S a LOT of Whiskey). It really has so much movement to it. It’s very cool. A woven bodice that shimmers…how about using embroidered lame’ instead of Whiskey bottle covers.img_3197

This beautiful sculpture is by Nicolas Africano (b.1948) and it is Cast Glass. I didn’t know one could even “cast” glass. Exquisite.img_3187

An amazing basket. It’s hard enough making a basic basket. I see great quilting designs on one of my vests. Or how about Sashiko stitching in wavy lines like this on a vest?img_3181

Ahhh, Chihuly glass. Great color combinations for blocks in my Off The Grid vest. img_3176

That’s me wearing my own simple Sashiko inspired vest (From my Mommy & Me, Vest pattern), standing  in front of a true work of art Sashiko vest/wall hanging/apron? I was so blown away by the embroidery that I forgot to read about the piece. img_3135img_3138

Onward we traveled to Stone Mountain & Daughter in Berkeley where after much idea matter going in and out of my brain, I was forced, yes, FORCED to buy more fabric so I could make those ideas come to life. New ideas need new fabrics! That’s my motto this week.

dsc_0140

Hard copies of my patterns are now available for purchase in my newly minted Etsy shop. It’s called Designs by Heidi Emmett. Please visit.


etsy-large-3

Thank you one and all for stopping by. I leave you with this quote from Miles Davis: “My future starts when I wake up every morning….Every day I find something creative to do with my life.”        Hugs, Heidi

2 thoughts on “Designs by Heidi goes to San Francisco!

    • Thank you Rejeanne! I am honored by what you said since you are a family of photographers by trade! We will miss you two this year. Congratulations on the new grand baby that’s coming. Hugs, Heidi

Leave a Reply

