A Collection of Name Tags

by Sandra Bruce

Happy New Year everyone! The photo above is the classroom at Eleanor Burn’s Quilt in a Day shop in San Marcos, CA where I taught a few days ago. Great ladies and much enthusiasm there. And Eleanor is quite a lady, I met her. Such energy she has.

I’ve just returned from my first teaching gig last night, I visited the Surfside Guild and El Camino Guild in Southern California. We’ve been having incredible rainy weather here at home in Grass Valley, and it was merely sprinkling down south. I must admit it was nice to be in warmer climes, but am thankful for the rain we received, even if it was, well…..a whole lot!

I have had a lot of fun seeing the name tags that ladies wear at the guilds I visit. They are so full of personality. I started taking pictures of some of the ones I liked, and I’m going to make my blog post today about them.

I have a few myself that I’m quite partial to. This one came from a workshop years ago, that I saved. very simple, but endearing!

img_1847
This one I wear to my local Pine Tree Quilt Guild meetings. You all know I love sock monkeys, don’t you? I had one as a child that I still have, put away somewhere. We need a sense of humor as quilters.

img_1849

Kari Hannekel made me this one for me, isn’t it cute?

img_1850

This one is super simple but I like it.

img_1084

Who can resist this pieced one? It has a zipper at the top, so she can put stuff in it.

img_1837-1

I don’t know how to knit or crochet, but this name tag impressed me for it’s delicate detail.

img_1307

I love this one. Look at the cat’s expression. And those feet…..

img_1817

Some ladies have fancy machines that can do this beautiful embroidery.

img_1083

Here’s another fancy embroidered one.

img_1040

Simple, but oh so sweet.

img_1039

This one cracked me up….”A bird, a plane, no, it’s Jennifer”! Jennifer is a young pilot who had this one made for her.

img_0640

Sewing machines are popular motifs. And putting on pins is common, too.

img_0641

I guess some are made afresh each year!

img_0806

This guild, the Citrus Belt Quilters, has a fabric lanyard in common that everyone uses, and then embellishes with their own name and goodies. Beth bought one of my polymer buttons and sewed it on right away!

img_1005

You can see that some get pretty elaborate!

img_0979

Simple embroidery, delicate and sweet.

img_0639

Critters abound!

img_0638

A big smile from a quilter with a very embellished lanyard. Quilters are just the best bunch of ladies (and sometimes gentlemen!)

img_1018

By my next post I hope to have “Sushmita” done, my latest quilt. Stay tuned and have a great rest of January. Stay dry and warm!

 

3 thoughts on “A Collection of Name Tags

Leave a Reply

