Happy New Year! 2017

This day in winter dawns with a storm a comin’.  They’re talking snow by New Year’s Day!
dsc_0279Before the storm rolls in, all the critters are snug by the fire. dsc_0247O.K., I admit it, both pictures of “the critters” are two years old (Sweet Sparky dog is gone now) but the snow, and by the fire, that is all really happening this New Year’s weekend. And I love these pics. They are awwww…. pictures. dsc_0245

Pinterest-PinnedCraftsy-LogoInstagramAA Logo1

 Find me at the icons at right. DesignsbyHeidi

Are you looking to make a Show Stopping Terrific Tabard Vest? This is one of my best selling patterns. I started with an allover large scaled print by M & S Textiles, an Aboriginal (it is 5th from the left). The other fabrics are cut into strips to work with that  Aboriginal. dsc_0552

This vest took a few days of walking back and forth, looking, moving, sewing, ripping, placing, taking pics…don’t be in a hurry. Relax and have fun with the process. I also cut up the large scaled fabric in interesting ways that could be used in the Terrific Tabard  (see below). I played and played with this one aboriginal and decided it needed a 2nd bold piece to go with everything.dsc_0555-2

Testing the first print, I like it so far. Hey, those gourds look good in the mix don’t they? dsc_0647

Do you see it? It’s the more blue toned (another Aboriginal) large scaled piece in the middle of the picture below. It was an “aha” moment. When making the Terrific Tabard using the view called “Aussie Angle” you are starting with a blank slate. Always key off your favorite large-scaled fabric and you will have a great palette to work with. Have a second or third large-scaled fabric at the ready, just in case. Notice the tissue piece on the right side of the picture. I often lay the tissue pieces over what I am working on so I don’t sew morestrips and pieces together than is necessary. dsc_0074-2 My VERY FIRST QUILTING project on my “new” (to me), Sweet Sixteen by Handiquilter!dsc_0093 A whole new world has opened up to me with this amazing machine. The room, the precision (well, I’m still working on that), the lighting, it’s so fun!!dsc_0095 Here’s one of the front pieces all quilted and ready to trim to fit the tissue pattern. dsc_0099

Adding the outside trim pieces (late at night, hence the poorly lit pictures). dsc_0159 Working on the shoulder strips (to cover raw edges) and bring the edging strip to the front of the vest. dsc_0165

Another MAJOR “aha” moment. How long have I owned this Bernina? Ohhh, since, 1986. See the picture below of the needle position, up or down? Pick down and you will have sooooooo much MORE control of smaller pieces that you are sewing together. We get used to things the way they are and don’t look at new ways of thinking.Hmm. this could be a New Year’s resolution: look at things from new angles! It will keep life interesting.  dsc_0164

Taa Daa! I love it. And Katie does too. dsc_0266

I made this vest as a thank you to Katie McCollum with Checker Distributing. Thank you Katie for getting my hard copy patterns in their “Art to Wear” pattern group for distribution all over the world! So exciting for me.   dsc_0269 dsc_0278

Happy New Year everyone. And a parting shot of Lake Tahoe at Zephyr Point in the early morning after a snow storm. Great things are happening at the Artistic Alchemy Retreat scheduled for September 4th-8th, 2017. Details coming the end of January. Hugs, Heidi

dsc_0718

4 thoughts on “Happy New Year! 2017

    • Hi Sherri, Thanks Sherri. I can’t wait to start on “Sherri’s Vest” pattern, maybe even next week. It has been a crazy, busy December. All good. Maybe we will need to just talk on the phone, my dear student from the 2016 workshop. I trust your Christmas was grand with all your adorable grandchildren. Cheers to you for a fantastic 2017. You and I KNOW it will be great!

Leave a Reply

