Ice Dying – WOW!! – What Fun!

by Heidi Emmett

Happy Thanksgiving weekend. I think Thanksgiving should be worldwide. At the very least, the Thankful part. We all have much to be thankful for. So be thankful every single day. Your spirits will be lifted, guaranteed!

I had two dear friends who happen to be sisters come down from Portland, Oregon recently. I was told we would be trying Ice Dying. Well as good as is looked, dying fabric is one area I have not explored. Too messy, too much work, too much time, blah, blah, blah….

Well, the title of this post says it all! Below are some pictures of this pretty darn fun process. Enjoy.

The tension is high as the surgeons (well, Debbie gave that away with her shiny BBQ apron) not, get ready to work. Linda on the left and her sister Karenanne in the middle. ice-dying-4

“I’m certain this is the way to do it!” Linda says as she eyes her phone for the umpteenth time!  Here is the simplified version of Ice Dying: Prepare your off-white or white fabric (natural fibers) in Soda ash. Wring it out and scrunch it onto an open rack (like a cookie cooling rack). Pack ice on top. Sprinkle dry powder dye on top of the ice. Allow ice to melt and then rinse out excess dye. Hang to dry.

ice-dying-9

Below is Linda’s dye job. Please note there are several crunched up pieces of fabric under all that ice.

ice-dying-5

Below is a piece from one section. Yowzaa! We call it Poppies- popalicious!
dsc_0694

Below left is that section of Linda’s ice (really scrunched up area yields more white space) with yellow in it. Bold and beautiful. dsc_0696

Same fabric below, but different lighting. dsc_0697

Below is Heidi’s  ice with much more of the yellow and red and orange powder. ice-dying-8

Can you even believe it? Mine is the silk piece on the left and the pink textured cotton 2nd from the right. dsc_0701

Same picture in different lighting. I would say the coloring below is very much what they look like when dry.  I’m going to see if there is enough of the heavier cotton piece to make the body of a Zephyr Jacket (one of my newest Art to Wear patterns with actual tissue pieces). dsc_0704

Karenanne ( the minimalist in the group!) I can only show you the chunk on the right as she took the other piece home with her to show off to her husband. ice-dying-6

Stunning!!!! This is a piece of 100% rayon. dsc_0708

Another close up view. dsc_0709

O.K. here is the last “ice.” Debbie did this one and I have to say I took this picture and thought, “Yikes,will this even turn out? The dye is so jumbled, the colors will blend too much. I think I see brown forming already.”( I already told Debbie this so it’s o.k. to say it here ha, ha).
ice-dying7

Wellll…everyone, I saved the BEST for last! Unbeknownst to me, Debbie had tied her wet piece with string here and there before adding the ice and dye. Scroll back up to her ice mess, I mean REALLY? Now back down. It has such a wow factor. I love all the others but they have a more serendipitous look (except maybe Linda’s Popolicious Poppies). Debbie’s looks so purposeful and rich.

ice-dye-10

Thanks for stopping by this post today. My next adventure with Ice Dying will be with my Artistic Alchemy “teaching buds!” I’ll post again when that happens. Hmmm… maybe right after it snows, then it is called, “Snow dying!” Have a creative week and don’t forget to visit me on Craftsy, Instagram, and Pinterest!! Hugs, Heidi

Craftsy-Logo InstagramAA Logo1Pinterest-Pinned

6 thoughts on “Ice Dying – WOW!! – What Fun!

  1. Great friends + fun project = great day and cool fabric! I’ve always wanted to try this and you guys made it look fairly easy! Now I just need an apron like Debbie’s!

  2. That is absolutely fabulous, with glorious colour and serendipitous results. I applaud you and will definitely be having a go to see if I can produce such wonderful fabrics.

    Thank you so much.
    Jean

    • Oh Jean, Of course you will!! The choices of dye colors is OVERWHELMING!! And I love color! So, I picked the primary colors on the color wheel. Red, blue, yellow. As pure of each color as possible. Then I added a second round of primary colors but strayed a bit, like a softer red, Mermaid blue (bluish greenish), and a soft orange. Then I threw in just for kicks, a black (one with a blue base), and a soft gray.

  3. Looks like you had great fun doing this with your friends. We almost had snow this weekend. Do you think this can be done with Kool Ade?😂

    • Weren’t the GIANT snowflakes beautiful?!!! I have done some Kool Ade dying, years and years ago. The Soda Ash might help it absorb better. The linen dress I dyed sure smelled nice, but it ALL washed out after two gentle washings. The colors were quite soft too.

Leave a Reply

