Art to Wear- Patterns, Retreats, & Inspiration!

by Heidi Emmett

The title says it all.  I’m Art to Wear, Patterns, Retreats, & lots and lots of Inspiration! I’ve been sewing since I was 7, made my own clothes since I was 12,and had my first show and sale of my “one of a kind” tennis dresses at age 18 (I made 27 for the show and half sold the first day, whoo hoo). I LOVE WHAT I DO!

Yes, I am older and wiser and have so much to show you, that you too can create your own art to wear piece and it will fit and you will feel great wearing it.

I don’t dress my age (59), I dress myself!

Students in my workshop have a choice of Off The Grid Vest, or Terrific Tabard. Below are some students past work.Off the Grid Vest (my miracle vest, see past posts by me, Heidi Emmett) The first one is Pat from a previous retreat.
Pat vest front open draped

Below is Trish, the only one in the entire retreat last year to walk to her truck after the retreat with a finished art to wear piece. Go Trish! The others were close behind. DSC_1039 A whole cloth Off The Grid. DSC_0087 (3) Wear it different ways. That’s what’s  fun. DSC_0309

A friend from New Zealand!New Zealand, Ca

????????????????????????????????????

????????????????????????????????????

Deirdre, working on her “Serengeti” vest. That’s what I’m calling it. She is using some terrific African fabrics. DSC_0025

Judi is using some great colors and fabrics that she keyed off of her large scaled fabric (the circles).  DSC_0026 One of my own Terrific Tabard vests using Marcia Derse fabrics. As Mary Boalt called it (in her July 8th post), a “TNT” of my TT vest pattern. DSC_0228

In case you missed them, Mary Boalt, a teacher this year at the Artistic Alchemy retreat made a “few” (5, FIVE!) Terrific Tabards. Reread and enjoy her post from July 8th.

DSC_0007

Silk scrap bag vest. Who knew?! Mary Boalt.

????????????????????????????????????

Love this, she painted over some of the designs, and added hand stitching to compliment. Simple and elegant. Mary Boalt-T.T. vest using linen, fabric paints, and hand stitching.

????????????????????????????????????

A covered button is the finishing touch.

DSC_0077

Here is the back of my cat, Rubix (he did that on command! ha, ha), and the back of Mary’s Terrific Tabard. Love the simplicity of the the painted circles and the stitched circles on linen. Sorry, the picture below is a bit fuzzy, let’s call it soft focus, ha, ha.

????????????????????????????????????

I’m working on a whole cloth T.T. I am trying different battings, threads, techniques. I’ll show you at the workshop.Machine quilting DOES take practice and more practice, I admit, I too am learning (the free form variety as below). I am quite willing to show my crude attempts. And no threads have been trimmed yet.  DSC_0159

And you thought I might have made my designs up (above pic)! This is the front. Tip # 1. use a whole cloth, large scaled print for maximum quilting potential. It makes it so much more fun to give it a try.

DSC_0160

Egads! I even took a close up picture of my “practice.” DSC_0161

Inspiration is alive and well. It’s all around us. Come and explore some with me, Heidi E. in my workshop, Art to Wear.. See you soon! Hugs, Heidi

P.S. There is room in all the workshops. Sign up until late August.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Art to Wear- Patterns, Retreats, & Inspiration!

    • Hi Mary, I live in the Grass Valley, California area. My personal blog is Designsbyheidi.wordpress.com And I’m glad you like my designs and thank you for visiting our Artistic Alchemy blog.
      Hugs, Heidi

Leave a Reply

