Dreadlock Scarf

By Mary Boalt

Hi! Let me introduce myself. I’m Mary Boalt and happy to be included in the very talented group of Artistic Alchemy women. What an honor and privilege to be asked to teach and share what I love alongside those who have such amazing gifts and talents unique to themselves. Together I think we bring an opportunity for many of you to explore your own creative journey and experience some alternative avenues of self expression.

My journey began with my mother teaching me to sew, and I’ve been sewing all of my adult life. About 25 years ago I was bit by the wearable art bug. I loved that I could create clothing that was one of a kind and could be embellished in hundreds of different ways. Oh the details! The beads! The stitching! The tucks and pleats! The piping and cording! Not to be forgotten the buttons, snap tape, jumbo hook and eyes! Couching yarns and ribbons! The embellishments are never ending, and I love deciding which ones I’ll use in my next garment.

Yes, I love beautiful textured yarns and I do buy a fair amount of them. However, I do not knit or crochet. Which brings me to my post today.

This yarn caught my eye when I saw it stuffed in a bottom bin at a Tuesday Morning. Only one skein of the most beautifully colored “dreadlocks” I had ever seen and it had to be mine! I’m sure you’ve all had that moment. (Maybe not the dreadlocks part but the color, texture or sparkle of some precious treasure.) I didn’t know at that time if I would ask my sister, who DOES crochet, to make me a scarf or if I could figure a way to use it somehow. So it finally came to me, a scarf made using water-soluble stabilizer. This method has been around a while as I once taught a class using these products. With some supplies left over I began.MB 7Here are some products I had in my stash. I used the Mokuba because it includes both the soluble adhesive and the soluble film. (I bought it at a fiber-art store that is now out of business.)MB 8The first thing I did was to flatten out the yarn a little with the iron and some steam.MB 9I laid the yarn in long lines on the adhesive side. Then I placed the film on top. The advantage of leaving spaces is that the film will stick to the adhesive and you won’t need to use pins to keep everything in place.MB 4

MB 5After choosing some beautiful rayon embroidery threads, off to the sewing machine.MB 6I sewed across the horizontally placed yarn in about 1/2-inch lines.MB 1Then to the sink to rinse it all out. It all washes away and you’re left with yarn held together with all the stitching. I let it dry and then pressed it out a little. That’s all there is to it.MB 3Hope you’ve enjoyed this post. See you next time!

10 thoughts on “Dreadlock Scarf

    • I’m so glad you found it inspiring. I love this process. I have even used 2″ squares of Dupioni silk instead of yarn for a very beautiful effect. Enjoy your project.

  1. Hello Mary!
    I took a class from you several years ago at JRFlamingo’s — ribbon and fabric weaving into a vest. It was lovely and I so enjoyed your teaching. Do hope to catch up with you sometime soon.

    • Hi Elsa,
      What a nice surprise to hear from you! And how lovely that you follow Artistic Alchemy. I really enjoyed teaching those classes at JRFlamingo and am sorry they are no longer operating. I will be teaching at the Artistic Alchemy retreat in September. I would love to catch up and see what you’ve been making. Thanks for the note.

  2. I love this idea! It is going on my to do list. There are so many beautiful yarns out there and I am not much of a knitter… but I can definitely do this. Thanks Mary!

    • I’m so glad you enjoyed this technique. As I mentioned to another reader, I have used 2″ squares of Dupioni silk instead of yarn for very beautiful results. I will try to post pictures of that in future blogs. In the meantime, enjoy your project.

Leave a Reply

