Summer Daze

by Christine Barnes

Welcome to all our new followers! This will be a short-and-sweet post because the three of us are, as you might guess, busy getting ready for the retreat. For those of you coming, we’ll email you the day-by-day itinerary on the 25th. For those of you not coming, there are still spots in Heidi’s “Art to Wear, Art on the Wall” workshop (her “Off the Grid” vest is fabulous) and our Open Studio, which is a great option if you want to soak up the beauty of Tahoe while finishing one of those UFOs that just won’t go away.

My AA post on “Leftovers” had a glitch last week, according to WordPress, so if you couldn’t see it and would like to, click here. It’s all about the yummy circles that get cut away from the back of circles blocks. They are not to be discarded!

In my newsletter this week I did a tutorial on making the transparency blocks for my new quilt, “Serene Circles.” If you’re in my workshop, you should have received it yesterday. For all others, you can email me through the contact page of my website and I’ll forward the newsletter to you. Here are the “raw” blocks—I haven’t yet decided how to arrange them.pop beadsChanging gears, I had a wonderful time with the Sierra Quilt Guild of Tuolumne County last week. The town of Sonora is charming, and the ladies were a delight. Here are a few of the exercises they did in “Color Camp.” The Churn Dash block below is a split complement of red, yellow-green (in the center square) and blue-green. Gorgeous. The color wheel is an awesome tool.Split compHere’s another Churn Dash block, with an entirely different look. What a difference a few fabrics make! What’s so interesting to me is that it’s essentially the same split complementary combination as the block above. (For my retreat students, I’ll have that black-and-white fabric for you to use in your blocks.)Black and White BKGKing’s Crown (my favorite block). I love the use of the soft geometric print in the background. And the placement of the center-fabric motifs.Beach, aquaAnother King’s Crown block. We agreed that this block would be more effective if the background fabric were a bit lighter, but I wanted you to see the great use of the center fabric and the batik “stripe” in the large triangles. Visually delicious.HOT King'sNow I want to go back to Sonora in the spring to see the green hills and wildflowers. Many thanks to Carol, my hostess, and all the ladies of the guild—you were so much fun!

That’s it for now. If you have any retreat questions, please let us know. For all others, we hope your “summer daze” is not a state of confusion, but a time to play and to sew.

Leave a Reply

