“Leftovers” (another try)

by Christine Barnes

A word of explanation: I published this post this morning, and heard from one of you that the link to my newsletter didn’t work. I’m so sorry. Then the post disappeared altogether, with only a note from WordPress that there was a glitch. Technology!

So, please allow me try again. (And for those who did get the earlier post and would like to sign up for my newsletter, you can do that on the Home page of my website.)

I remember making my first circles quilt and cutting away the fabric from the back of each block to remove the freezer paper. The “left-over” circles were gorgeous! With every circles quilt since then, I’ve collected these bonus circles. Just for fun, I thought you might like to see them.

“Elegant Circles” began in a workshop with quilter extraordinaire Judy Mathieson. For the background squares I paired Japanese ombrés and hand-painted fabrics by Elin Noble. I loved the way these fabrics worked together, so rich and nuanced.Elegant Circs for AABelow are the circles I cut away from the back of the blocks. Aren’t they yummy? I keep thinking “vest.”

4a Elin Nobe circlesMy next circles quilt combined Kaffe Fassett prints, shot cottons, and Caryl Bryer Fallert ombrés. Here’s a single block.

single CBF circles blockFive blocks, not yet joined, with a Moda ombré for the alternate squares.

6 CBF 9 blocksI made more blocks, and though I didn’t use them all, I’m happy to have the extra bonus circles. To my eye, they glow.

8 bonus circles, FallertNext came a vest with ombré circles appliquéd on top of pieced squares. (I used my Kimono Collage vest pattern, without the ties.) That’s Rainbow Resource mini rick rack around each circle.

1 vest front2 vest backI almost like the bonus circles below more than the vest! The combination of pieced fabrics is interesting and surprising, and I think they look great on a background of gray. Another vest . . . ?

3, vest bonus circlesBy this time I was carrying Gelato ombrés in my Store. I decided to try them with Kaffe Fassett prints, and Sassy Circles II was the result. (Actually, most of these prints are by Philip Jacobs, one of his designers.)

9 Sassy Circles IIAnd don’t these bonus circle look like gelato?? Love them on the gray!

9a Sassy Gelato circlesAnd maybe in rows . . .  (The small circle in the lower right has been pressed over a smaller freezer-paper circle.)

9b Gelato circles alignedYou’ll notice that I have yet to make something with my leftovers, but hey, they’re like money in the bank waiting to be spent. Maybe seeing their potential will entice you to make a circles quilt?

Before I leave you, I’m teaching my Collage Vest class on August 22 and October 10 at Sugar Pine Quilt Shop here in Grass Valley. It’s a two-day workshop, with time in between to do the surface stitching, then assemble the vest in the second session. Email me for details and an image of my new vest.

Hope the rest of your summer is the best, with plenty of time to scheme and sew. And to my retreat students, see you soon!

5 thoughts on ““Leftovers” (another try)

  1. Caryn, Thanks for letting me know, and I’m sorry about this glitch! WordPress doesn’t have living, breathing phone support people, so I don’t know what happened. I pasted the link into a new browser window, and it worked, but who knows . . . To further confuse me, my entire post then disappeared! I posted again, with an explanation, and suggested people just go to the Home page of my website (christinebarnes.com) to sign up for my newsletter on color.

  2. It worked by clicking on the blue BOLD type “Artistic Alchemy 3” below your synopsis.. K

    On Fri, 7 Aug 2015 16:27:20 +0000

    • Thanks so much for your comments. So glad you found us! Philip Jacobs is my favorite in the Kaffe group too. And I have an embarrassing collection of his fabric to prove it. About a new vest with those left-over circles, it will show up in a blog post one of these days 🙂

Leave a Reply

