It’s Super Spiralicious

by Heidi Emmett

Oh the things we can create when using a strip of bias fabric.Join me in my workshop, Art on The Wall, Art to Wear. We will be making different types of spirals that can be used on a quilt, a bag, a pillow, on a vest, or how about a denim vase?  DSC_0548DSC_0546

This is the back view of Calypso Vest, one of my patterns that will be available up at Zephyr Point. Or you can purchase it at Craftsy.com 

I really enjoy the color combinations and different fabric patterns that are available. Oh, the black with fuchsia background piece is eyelet fabric from a skirt (on the dollar rack) with my solid color choice behind. DSC_0310

We just might be spiraling so much that we arrive at a Deep Space Sparkle planet.

DSC_0102Let’s explore at least 5 different spiral ideas from this wallhanging alone. Do you have a fabric panel that you just had to buy but thought later, “What will I do with this?” BRING it to the workshop and we will make it pop with some fun textural additions.

DSC_0106

DSC_0110

Back Earth side, Super sweet Spirals make a little dance across the bottom of a skirt.

DSC_0839

DSC_0843

Great take along project. Some sewing, and some hand work to this technique.

DSC_0879

DSC_0872

DSC_0024

Let’s work on some upcycling of denim. I will supply the denim. You will make a little bag that is actually a vase. Why not? This workshop will open your mind and hands to new ideas for your quilts and clothing projects.

DSC_0025

DSC_0030

DSC_0028

I hope to see YOU in my workshop at Zephyr Point. I am on my way up to Zephyr Point soon to check out our “new digs” for this years retreat. Everyone will enjoy this side of the Point I’m sure.

Yesterday, I had a lovely visit with Kirsten Juhl who owns Patchwork Koelderen, and Ilse Iversen quilter and quilt book author. They are both from Denmark. I showed them some of my work and sent them on their way with a few of my patterns. The plan is to make samples so my patterns can be sold in Kirsten’s quilt shop. Also, a teaching gig could be in the works! We’ll see where this all leads.

Two of my leaf projects for the Stitch E-book are coming out this month.  E-book is a new venture for Stitch and me too. So it will be fun to see. And I just proofed my Fall Leaf projects for Stitch. It is always interesting how they picture my projects. My projects will be in a section that features Exotic jewel tones. We’ll talk soon. Hugs, Heidi

 

 

7 thoughts on “It’s Super Spiralicious

  1. You are the most creative person I know. . . do you ever sleep or are you always thinking up new designs!???? I love every one of them, Heidi. Keep on designing – they are all wonderful!

  2. Dee jones said of you “there’s a party in her head all the time”. I agree with Dee. You are adventurous, creative, and actually follow through on your ideas. Kuddos. I’d love to return to the retreat this year, but it isn’t to be. A grandchild is due mid-August and they will need help with the ‘older’ sister, who turned one mid-April.

  3. Oh Lindsey, thank you so much for that from Dee (we will miss her so much as her kindness and talents reached so many of us). And thank you also for your kind thoughts of me. You know we would love to have you at Zephyr, but family really needs to come first. You enjoy that precious grandchild.
    Hugs, Heidi

  4. Hi Miss Sewdiva,
    Thank you for your kind words. It IS a linen skirt. Good guess. I bet you could tell by the wrinkles. I love the look and feel of linen. It is one of my very favorite fabrics to work with and to wear. And, I consider wrinkles (not on my face though) a status symbol (I read that somewhere and it works for me since linen is more expensive than other fabrics). Hugs, Heidi

Leave a Reply

