Mommy & Me & My Quilt Go to The Blogger’s Quilt Festival

 by Heidi Emmett

Hello fellow quilters. Here is a chance for you to have some fun.Head on over to the Blogger’s Quilt Festival and feast your eyes on dozens of quilts in all sorts of categories. You can vote for your favorites and be put into drawings to win cool quilt related things.The best part is that for each quilt you click onto, you go to that persons blog. What a fun way to discover new quilters and see what they are up to. At the bottom of this post click on Amy’s Creative Side blue logo.

Below is the quilt I am entering. I call it “Flowers and Lace.” It will be in the Art Quilt Category. Flowers and Lace along with a “Mommy Lace Vest” and a  “Me Lace Vest” are going to be part of a series of patterns that will teach young girls to sew and quilt.

DSC_0744

As you can see, this is not an ordinary pieced quilt. I have included some interesting and easy techniques to create something both mom and child will enjoy making.

I pull out anything and everything to begin with. I usually leave the pile out where I can view it for awhile. I have to let the ideas slowly begin to percolate. I often sketch many different ways a quilt can be made.

DSC_0346

After some editing I’m ready to put “brush” (bits and pieces)  to “canvas” (background envelope that contains batting and backing).

DSC_0385

I love the way it turned out. It’s a happy wallhanging.

DSC_0747

Who would think of putting rugged, Aboriginal fabric with lace and little pretties?

DSC_0751

I did! And I had fun being creative and easy going with all the concepts.

DSC_0755

Quilting should be fun and as I have said before,taking classes or going to a retreat  allows us to stretch our minds and try new things.

DSC_0766

There are yoyo’s, lace trims, hand painted flowers, beads, and more. Simple things to create an impact.

DSC_0772

Thanks for stopping by and don’t forget to click on “Amy’s Creative Side” logo at the bottom. You will go to her site first and then on to the Blogger’s Quilt Festival. Have fun and all without having to travel to far (except to get something to drink) while traveling to far away places.

DSC_0737

Helper one, (Rubix).

DSC_0738

Helper two, (Rex).

DSC_0752

Get your creative going. Hugs, Heidi

Amys Creative side

 

 

4 thoughts on “Mommy & Me & My Quilt Go to The Blogger’s Quilt Festival

Leave a Reply

