We Are Celebrating Spring!

A Spring storm rolling by Zephyr Point, with the barest hint of snow at the peak of Tallac Mountain.

by Heidi Emmett, Christine Barnes, & Sandra Bruce

m&m lace 3

Heidi Emmett here. I’m celebrating Spring by hanging a new quilt in the beautiful Dogwood tree in my yard. I love the lace and silk spiral flowers mixed with an Aboriginal background fabric.

m&m lace 4

This little quilt will be part of a series of patterns called, “Mommy & Me & My Quilt. Included in this pattern will be a Mommy & Me Lace Vest to sew. I will really be celebrating Spring when this pattern is done.

DSC_0772

This quilt will be at the retreat. I will show you how to create  interesting textural embellishing ideas for your quilts or clothing. My workshop, “Art on The Wall, Art To Wear” has a few places left. Sign up now.

 Sandra next!

Below you see my latest quilt in progress…it is pieced but not yet quilted, and what I’ve been doing in every minute of spare time in the last 6 weeks. It will be called “Claire”, after the young lady in the photo. It will be my MAQ Challenge piece in July, the theme is “Triad” (as in color scheme).

IMG_8894

I have also been working on new polymer buttons and earrings. I’m getting ready for a trip down south to Carson, CA for the SCCQC “Meet the Teachers” later in April.

IMG_8880

I have not been able to be outside much enjoying Spring, but I do have a beautiful orchid in my studio that I am appreciating! I hope to be able to spend some outdoor time soon.IMG_8913

 

And to wrap up our spring-has-sprung theme, Christine here!

What do I do when I need a break from working on a major quilt? Lately, it’s been Japanese X and Plus blocks. As usual, it’s the planning that takes the time; they go together in a snap

Made up in Kaffe Fassett prints and a wonderful Moda B&W: C1 X + block, red 8 and 72 copy

Believe it or not, below is the same block, this time in wild-and-crazy Kim Schaefer prints and scrumptious solids (though in this version, I did break the center rectangle into three horizontal squares):X Plus, B&W squaresWhat a difference a few fabrics make, yes?!

I saw a bit of spring on the coast two weeks ago. Here’s a shot at the Mendocino Botanical Gardens on a very dark day. Such lovely fragile color. Until next time . . .

Mendo bot garden 2015 F

2 thoughts on “We Are Celebrating Spring!

Leave a Reply

