On the road. . . with color on my mind

by Christine Barnes

We’re so sorry, but we’re having a bit of a problem posting. (Time to contact tech support at WordPress.) That’s why you got an email a few hours ago announcing a new post, but found nothing when you clicked on the link. Hopefully, this time it has worked.

It’s been a very busy few weeks for me, with traveling to teach, finishing an article (my “Transparent Squares” quilt will be in Modern Patchwork in the spring) and teaching a color workshop for my guild’s Junior Quilters. But I’ll save that for next time. Suffice it to say the girls were a delight!

I’ve also been busy gearing up for my “Color Made Modern” workshop at Sugar Pine Quilt Shop January 24 and 25. I’ll bring modern colors and prints from my stash for you to play with, including low-volume fabrics, solids, and ombrés. Interested? Call the shop at (530) 272-5308, or email me for details and a supply list. I taught this workshop in San Diego in November, and it was a wild day of laughter and new ideas.

Here are two sample blocks we’ll be doing. I love mixing prints and solids—the solids calm and separate the prints and give the eye a place to rest. I’m also loving open, airy prints for the background. Star at 8", 72 ppiHere’s my favorite 9-inch block, King’s Crown, in a mix of prints and four different solids. Who says those triangles have to be the same color? Yes, I picked up the orange from the print, something I wouldn’t normally do because it’s such a small accent, but I wanted an element of surprise. One of my FB friends commented, “The orange surprise rocks!” offbeat color King's, 7"I’m so excited about this class and can’t wait to see what others do. (You teach me.)

Finally, a special welcome to our new followers. We had a great response to our first giveaway (there will be more), and I loved reading your comments on my last post. We look forward to hearing from you all!

 

5 thoughts on “On the road. . . with color on my mind

Leave a Reply

