Beads and Shiny Objects

by Sharon Alves

Everyone that knows me knows that I believe that everything goes better with beads.  You can never have too many beads.

In  2008 I saw the most incredible beaded piece by Larkin Van Horn.  I was so enamored with the piece that I signed up for her class and flew to Washington to take the class.  Needless to say, I was instantly smitten with beading on fabric.  Beading on fabric has become as much of an addiction as quilting is for me.

In the beginning I didn’t wish to over do the beading.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

SUNSET ON MY MOUNTAIN Size 8 1/2″ x 11″

This was my first piece after Larkin’s class.  I belonged to a monthly journal group at the time.  Our theme for the month was music.  I just couldn’t stop myself!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Hills are Alive – 8 1/2″ x 11″

100_0537 - Copy (2)

The Hills are Alive – 8 1/2″ x 11″

Then I started collecting cabochons.  I love collecting cabochons.  They are so much fun to stitch into a project.100_0625-2

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIMG_0133 (2)

I audition my beads just like I audition the fabrics for my quilts.

100_0619-2

Cuff

Beaded Cuff – Sharon Alves

Now I am creating beaded cuffs with bead embroidery.  This is a fun process that you can just lose yourself in.  What could be better – beads and shiny objects?  Then you get to wear it and be a bit flashy.

cuff-2

Beaded Cuff – Sharon Alves

Now, here’s my  news.  I decided that I would teach a workshop for beading on fabric at our Artistic Alchemy retreat.  I will have a bead packet ready for you to use.  All you need to do is show up with a pair of scissors.  We will do this in the evenings after dinner.  You just need to sign up in advance so I know how many kits to prepare.

Until next month……..  Happy quilting and beading!!!

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Beads and Shiny Objects

Leave a Reply

