Heidi, means, “A Field of Pretty Flowers”.

by Heidi Emmett

Hello! My  name is Heidi . I am Austrian, Swiss, and Norwegian. A friend who is German told me that my name means, “a field of pretty flowers”. I have decided that it suits me just fine (whether it is true or not)! Please visit my personal blog: Designsbyheidi.wordpress.com and you will see flowers everywhere, whether real or fabric.It’s just who I am.

 

DSC_0005 (4)

 

I used this pillow on the left to key off of and found fabrics similar yet different from my stash for the representational flowers.

DSC_0930

 

I decided that I needed some fabric paint behind those flowers. And the close up view I am showing you is what I call, “sketch stitching”. It’s fun and easy to do. When I sketch out a design, I draw many lines to represent a leaf or flower. I will show you how to do this in a fast and fun way.

DSC_0927

 

I LOVE this pillow. It is done on 100% Linen with some great stenciling behind the flowers. The stenciling makes the flowers pop.

DSC_0916

 

Yes, I am keying this next pillow off of the pillow above. I LOVE these colors too. AND, I am getting really good at cutting out free form circles. Notice the dots behind, the fabric flower shapes. They are stenciled. I thought these shapes alone would be enough. But…..DSC_0925

 

Wow, what a difference with the leaves. I think leaves add more texture and life. Too many circles before. Please visit my Personal blog: Designsbyheidi.wordpress.com next week to see this piece finished. And of course, I can’t stop with just this pillow. I have two skirts in mind to add the funky flower shapes too. So check back. One more peek….

DSC_0920DSC_0921DSC_0922

Aaaarrrggghh! I CAN’T SHOW this WAY COOL project to you! It goes back to Boston on “Spec” for a possible project in Stitch magazine. If YOU join MY workshop up at Zephyr, you will see it in person!

In the meantime, if you are in the Grass Valley, Nevada City, CA area, on Sunday, June 1st please consider this fun opportunity below. Until next time, enjoy the weekend. And God bless those who sacrificed their lives for the freedoms WE ALL enjoy today in these GREAT, United States! Be sure to take a moment and remember these brave people on Monday, May 26th. Hugs, Heidi

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Heidi, means, “A Field of Pretty Flowers”.

Leave a Reply

