The Color of Nature

by Sharon Alves

I love color!  However, sometimes I get stuck when I need to decide on colors for a project.  A while ago, I was having this problem so I started studying the colors that nature has provided for us.  Nature could be a great quilter!  I started a series titled “The Color of Nature”.  I am taking the colors from nature and creating quilts or other projects using the amazing color and textures that nature has provided.

This was an idea that came from my own back yard.  I have this wonderful majestic tree that I see very day from my back deck.

unnamed It inspired my piece “Sunset on My Mountain”

photo 3-001The beautiful color of coral and the vast array of color combinations of fish in the ocean, offer an amazing resource for color inspiration.                                                                   ?????????????????????????????????????????????I’m creating “Fantasy of the Sea”. I am having so much fun working on my coral.  I can’t wait to get started on the beading.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAMore coral…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAFascinating Fractals-the colors and shapes are unlimited. Fractal-Direct-Color-02A great place to find beading inspiration.IMG_2958I am now pulling fabrics and textures for a piece with these beautiful colors.

1381572_527384764006492_495888158_n

My fabric choices.

Fabric2

Aren’t the colors in this little guy perfect for a quilt?MandarinDuck_ROW2057460281_20100409

I pulled color and textures for this piece – velvets, silk dupioni, hand dyes, and batiks.

FAbric1

The sun is out today, the trees are starting to bud, flowers are beginning to bloom. Take some time to get out in nature and see what wonders you can find.

3 thoughts on “The Color of Nature

Leave a Reply

